Blending Modes

1. Lake – Unedited | April 26, 2012 | 5:58PM| f/4.0 | 1/50 | Canon 30D OS | Rexburg, Idaho

2. Rocky Road – Unedited | April 28, 2012 | 2:32 PM| f/5.0 | 1/400 | Nikon D90 | Rexburg, Idaho

3. Deep Purple Landscape Blend of 1 and 2 | Edited in Photoshop Elements | April 29, 2012

I’m suprised how well this came out, I was mostly just playing around to see if what it would look like. I like how much drama there is in this picture, and how deep this picture is. I like how you can see the reflection of the water below the log, and that you can see the mountain range in the distant. I love the color, and how there’s a vignette but not the typical one. I also like that you can see the water ripples through the rocks. I’m not sure how everyone else would like this but I do, especially because it’s the first blend I’ve ever done. I had to do this at home and did not have access to Photoshop – so I had to resort to a trial version of elements. I wasn’t able to do the RGB Color channel look like I wanted to originally, so this is what I did. I basically just blended the two together and added solid color layers to this to give it a purple look.

Text Overlay

Duckys | April 27, 2012 | 2:30PM | f/2.0 | 1/800 | Nikon D90 | Rexburg, Idaho

(blended with) Raindrops | April 27, 2012 | 1: 55PM| f/1.8 | 1/800 | Nikon d90 | Rexburg, Idaho

I was also just playing around with this picture and I had the idea for this quote! I think it goes well with the picture. I like how the raindrop picture gives the duck a glow. After I made this I kind of interpreted it to mean that just because you don’t fit in with the crowd, or because something or someone else is different doesn’t mean you should write it/them off. Also, having standards are pretty unique characteristic to have in this world, but we shouldn’t be embarrassed about it, we should realize how blessed we are because of it.  that’s another thing I think of when I see this picture. 🙂

One thought on “Blending Modes

  1. Well Done! the colours on the pebbles were terrific, i thought you blended the two really well, it made a perfect image, almost as though it were two differen pictures, i almost couldnt tell it ws a blend at first~!! And i love the duck!

Leave a Reply

