Edits – Borders

Brushed-On Effect Border

The Wind in Your Hair | May 5, 2012 | f/2.8 |  1/400 | Nikon d90 | handheld

This is one of my new favorite techniques. I used to think adding borders to photos were oh-so-tacky. Well not until I got in touch with the modern world of photoshop and style. Gone are the days of Paint. This would be a good effect for anything needing a little extra pizzaz, or for a poster.

Here is what I did to get this: I opened an image, in my case, the one you see above (without the effects yet of course). First edit to your hearts desire, and then flatten the image by saving it as a .jpg. The history brush wont work unless it is a .jpg file. Now, hit Cmd/A to select all. Delete to erase the image for now. Next click “Y” to load the history Brush tool. Click on the black arrow next to the brush size on the top menu bar, and then click on arrow at the top right of this pallet to give you more brush sizes and different styles to experiment with. Now, in the “heavy brushes pallet” click on the third brush. Make sure the brush is large enough to paint the image back on in just a few strokes. This is where your artistic side can let lose. Use long smooth strokes and curved and angled strokes to mix things up and vary your style. MAKE sure you do not paint all the way to the edges (it will look tacky). Next click brush 2, and brush 5 to add random spots/interesting texture to the photo. Lastly, add white canvas space to increase the white border, and then crop to the desired size. Ta Da!

The “Flexible Vignette” 

Yea, well I had a difficult time trying to do the “vignette” option in this assignment, but I did discover how fun creating colorful non-feathered vignettes can be. These can be fun for portrait sessions, and help to vary your style depending on the person photographing. There are many other ways to get creative using this technique, i’ve shown you one simple way. Kind of fun after all.

Here’s what I did. I started by hitting shift>command>N to add a new blank layer. I then used the eyedropper tool to select a color from the image, in this case from Hannah’s dress, to use as the border. Now click on the rectangular marquee tool (not the rectangle tool!). From here feathering is optional, but I was not sure how to get a desirable effect out of this. Must have been doing it wrong. Instead, I decided to add a stroke to the edge to give it style. You can do this by selecting the regular rectangle tool and then changing the stroke size, and color 🙂

Burnt Border

The burned border is another one of my new favorites. My teacher, Sis. Esplin was right, it does give a professional quality feel to your photo. That’s always nice to see on your own work, even if it’s not really professional. It kind of helps you to make believe you are, anyway. 🙂

So here is what I did for this. I hit command J to copy the image > added the multiply blending mode to darken the exposure of new layer. >Clicked on the rectangle marquee tool from the main tool pallet > I set feathering to 0 > Drew a border inside the edges of image, then hit delete. Now play with opacity to your hearts desire.

The Fine Art Template

So I attempted to be all unique in this assignment and do something out of the box, but I decided that when it all came down to it, simplicity almost always wins out in professionalism. I gave this a touch of me by adding the squiggly line behind my name. This showcases my personality quite well, in that I am a squiggly line. I prefer freedom over restrictions in a mormon sense of coarse 🙂 This is a great and valuable technique to know for the future!

Leave a Reply

