Poster – 24×36 Print of the Teton Mountain Range

Reflections In Nature | June 9, 2012, 9:13AM | Jackson Hole, Wyoming (Near Teton National Park | f/11 | 1/30 | ISO 100 | Tripod | Photomatix

This has to be my favorite photo I have ever taken. I think it really showcases all the elements that I have learned this semester. It is also a picture with a story, for me at least. I decided after hearing about the poster assignment that none of the photos that I had were “wall-worthy.” Sometimes I can be hard on myself, but I think its a good thing. I knew I could do better. So I stewed over where to go for a while, not really wanting to spend a lot of gas money but still be able to go somewhere cool. I looked stuff up on google, “places to photograph Idaho.” Ironically one of Sis. Esplin’s posts showed up in my google search, and it just so happened to be the “Mormon Row/Teton” blog post where she explains in thorough detail how to get to her favorite scenic areas near Jackson Hole. Right then and there I knew I had to do it! I have always wanted to get this kind of shot… with beautiful majestic mountains and water reflections of the mountain in the forground. So I convinced my husband to go with me this last Friday evening, so that we could wake up early and try to get good shots. Plus, getting out of Rexburg is just healthy for the soul. So we went, but it rained all night long! It was raining when we woke up, but I was still determined to get a good shot, and hoping that Heavenly Father would clear the storm as the sun began to rise. To end this, after getting muddy and cold the clouds rose and I was able to get some amazing shots. Very thankful for the fun experience and for Sis. Esplin’s directions!! I really wanted to do something that I would be proud of and would actually want to hang on my wall. I’m happy to say that I will definitely do that 🙂

I love how it looks glowy, but not everexhaggerated. It still looks natural. I like that it just the HDR just enhances what is already there. Looking at this photo reminds me of what it was like to actually be there. I like how the river or creek moves your eye up toward the mountain and how the clouds at the top keep your eye from leaving the photo. I really can’t take any credit for this, it’s all God’s doing. He created all this, and has power over the light, I just got lucky 🙂

Oh yes, and I edited this in photomatix (HDR) and played around with it to get the effect. I sharpened some areas, such as the mountains and trees and grass a bit in photoshop. I added a slight viniette. That’s about all.
Also, here is another photo that I really like from this day… once again thanks Sister Esplin 🙂 This is at Mormon Row just outside of Jackson. It’s got some cool history, and even cooler overlook of the Tetons. I almost used this as my poster, but it’s not something I would want to hang on my wall quite as much. This is where I got all muddy waiting for the clouds to let up. After about 3 times of getting ready to leave and then coming back the Tetons finally came out of its hiding place 🙂
The Breakthrough at Mormon Row | June 9, 2012, 6:30 AM (!!) | f/11 | 1/8 | 100 | Tripod Photomatix magic
Ok, one more. Just because this stuff makes me happy.
Leave a Reply

