Textures = my new love.

The 6th Dimension | May 24, 2012, 12:40 PM | Bannack Ghost Town, Montana |

Nikon d90 | f/7 | 1/200 | ISO: 100 | Tripod

So inspired right now! If you have ever seen any of Maria Sardari’s work you should take a look at it, it’s amazing. Perhaps for its simplicity and its unexpected twists. Her photography tells a story. That is what I want to do as a photographer. I think it’s really important as an artist to try and find other artists who inspire you. It is not bad to emulate another artist, just take certain ideas and give it your own twist. There has to be some reason why we are all drawn to different things as artists. We all see things differently and tend to focus more on different things than others. Sure, a photographer’s job may seem easy. You just put the right settings in, point, and shoot. I have found that this is not the case and that even though your camera may be predictable, the lighting is not. Subjects are not. True artists have to be flexible. They have to learn how to work with the unexpected, and then bend with it. You may go out to shoot something and you have an idea how to shoot it before you get there (this is a good thing) but if you aren’t able to bend to the unexpected, the unexpected will bend you as a photographer. We must be sensitive. We must be open to possibilities. We must think of creative twists. We must understand the light and its exceptions.

I have to create and I am very grateful to have stumbled upon this hobby. I love it! There are so many possibilities. It gives me room to breathe knowing this. Because the real world can sometimes be limiting. Defeating. Photography has no limits. That’s why I love it!

I learned how to make my own custom brushes in photoshop just this weekend. For class we had to create a tutorial about anything photography or design related. I have always wanted to learn how to add my own textures and how to create them. Finding them in the real world can sometimes be somewhat frustrating because sometimes the idea in your head cannot be found out there. So I finally found a way to do this. Its not perfect and needs much alteration and practice but it excites me to have this new tool at my whim.

Here’s something (not amazing) but still promising for future projects.

I am in love with the filmy look! I’m trying to achieve this, but like I said, still a long way to go. Until then!

Leave a Reply

