Family

Well isn’t this just the icing on the cake? I mean… the dog slobber on the mouth. πŸ™‚ I thought this captured Hannah’s love for animals. Plus, it’s really cute and Pearl is a lover dog.

This one is my favorite one of us doing this pose. I think if I could go back I would have positioned us a little better.. Hannah more over toward Mother, that way she doesn’t look like the odd one out and the picture is more balanced. Owell!

I LOVE this one!

GOOD job Hannah!! I love this angle and our pose. I think we are in the shape of a heart πŸ™‚ New favorite picture of us for sure.

This one is one I want to make into a poster and send to Rog on Father’s day πŸ™‚ No one else understands but us that is what makes it so funny. & no Rog, you can’t get away from the harassment. You have equipped us with more than a lifetime of it.

Ok Rog, this was a good idea. I like how this came out!! Plus, you look sincerely happy. I like how we are all posed but in a different way it adds interest.

This wasn’t from the “photoshoot” and I know Hannah you probably hate it because you look sweaty but I think it’s a natural picture and I love the lighting and the background. Also, it goes to show you Hannah that it’s really hard to get a bad pic of you. I’m jealous πŸ™‚ I also love your freckles =)

Ok Rog it came out good. You happy πŸ™‚

The original 4

Josh and I both think mother looks like the “mean girl” here…haha!

Lovely!! I loove the golden light.

because it’s cute.

Golden girl.

Golden boy.

Mother’s favorite πŸ™‚

Hannah’s favorites πŸ™‚

My favorite

SISTERz

Striking a pose. Mother is a teenager again.

Not sure if I like this or not. But I still like it. Does that make sense?

Love

I know Pearl isn’t part of the family, but she is very photogenic and I loved this picture! For you Hannah.

Here’s one chess photo. I thought black and white really put this photo in the mood of this game.

This is how it really felt. HAHA.

During my 7 week break I traveled to Kentucky to see my ‘rents.

Before leaving to go home I realized to things: 1.Β  I had a DSLR cameraΒ  and 2. That we haven’t had a legit family photo since I was in 3rd grade. Kind of sad huh? Well everyone has changed a lot since then and I wanted to put my new-found talents use and get some practice, so I decided to take our own family photos!

The main thing I discovered is that taking “professional” photos is no walk in the park.

There are so many different things you have to do to prepare yourself; if you don’t you are disorganized, indecisive, and unprofessional. Part of preparation of coarse is just getting practice and I haven’t had too much practice with people yet. People are a bit more difficult than still life objects.

Important things to remember:

1. positioning is everything. You can have a stellar photo with good lighting but if people are not positioned in a pleasing way, it ruins the wall-worthiness of a photo.

2. Lighting!! Knowing what the weather and lighting conditions are going to be helps you to set your camera settings correctly before going. This will also help you determine if you want to place your subjects in the shade or not. For instance, I learned that when the sun is going down, you really don’t need to place your subject in the shade. The golden glow of the light at golden hour looks amazing. I wish I would have done this instead of putting everyone in the shade.

3. Off camera flash or a diffused flash makes a family photo look profesh. I wish I owned off camera flash but I used my on-camera flash (I know, a sin) but you could barely tell, and it made a huge difference.

4. Color coordination. The colors people wear should be complimentary. They should be bright or bold or both. White is a great color for family photos, though kind of cliche..it is simple and easy and always successful. It elevates a photo from ok to “wow!”

5. Always have help when you are doing your own family photos!! It’s no fun having to run back and forth. Though it can be done πŸ™‚

6. Props always make people feel more relaxed and natural. Rog brought out his tractor and it helped us all to relax. Don’t ask why, I guess it’s just human nature.

Well, that’s the main stuff. This was really a fun experience for our family, despite the arguing and the extreme humidity. It got us away from the television and electronics and were able to make some good memories. I love having a camera!

OR

Which one do you like better??

2 thoughts on “Family

Leave a Reply

